Posted on


Dark Essence Records have announced details of the much-anticipated album “Afterlife Romance” from Romanian artist COSTIN CHIOREANU and Greek singer SOFIA SARRI, as well as releasing a new single and video for a track from the album.

The single, titled “Thanatoguards” can be streamed or downloaded at

Whilst the video, by Chioreanu, can be seen below and at

Through his art and video productions, COSTIN CHIOREANU has a long history of collaboration with many of the Dark Essence Records bands, as well as bands and artists like Rune Eriksen of MAYHEM, AURA NOIR and EARTH ELECTRIC, AT THE GATES, GHOST, SIGH and VULTURE INDUSTRIES.  But many fans may not have known, until now, that this devotee of avant-garde is also a talented musician who uses a wide range of effects to create never-before heard  sounds with his guitar.

Also a fan of metal and avant-garde, SOFIA SARRI is a vocalist with a breadth of artistic vision and talent that frees her from any kind of genre-imposed shackles.  Having recorded with artists associated with free jazz, improvisation and polyphonic choirs, her  2017 solo album “Euphoria” allowed her to fully utilise her wide-ranging, unearthly,  vocals that move with ease from graceful fragility, to wild, and powerful abandon.

Cleverly  crafted to mimic a Lo-fi production that makes use of the tension and the eeriness of horror movie soundtracks of the ’70s or ’80s, “Afterlife Romance” is an album that defies any categorisation and is something between a  cult peculiarity and a romantic enchanted experiment.

Tracklisting for “Afterlife Romance” is as follows:

  1. The Gardenian Night Shift
  2. Sulphur Promenade
  3. Dance on the Clouds Floor
  4. A blooming Moonflower
  5. Dreadwatch
  6. Thanatoguards
  7. The Glow Made Us Og
  8. Classified at Dawn
  9. Kermes (CD & digital only)

Set for release on the 18th October, “Afterlife Romance” will be available in CD, Gatefold Vinyl and Digital formats, and can now be to  pre-ordered from

The original artwork by Chioreanu for “Afterlife Romance”  will be exhibited in various historical locations, art galleries and music festivals during 2019 and 2020.

More information about Costin Chioreanu can be found at

and about Sofia Sarri at or on Facebook at