Posted on


Sulphur PR1

Having kept their fans waiting for seven long years since the release of “Thorns in Existence”, Norwegian Experimental Death/Black Metallers SULPHUR recently announced that their third full-length album “Omens of Doom” would hit the streets early this year on Dark Essence Records. With a release date now set for the 11th March, SULPHUR have today debuted a track from the album. The track “Gathering Storms”, can be heard below and at

The lineup on “Omens of Doom” includes Thomas Skinlo Høyven on Vocals, Øyvind Madsen on guitars, keys and programming, Vegard Hovland on bass, Erik Hæggernes on drums and guitarist Martin Lynn Ytrøy, who replaces VULTURE INDUSTRIES’ Eivind Huse. Huse himself makes a guest appearance on the album, as does producer and VULTURE INDUSTRIES’ frontman Bjornar Erevik Nilsen. The artwork for “Omens of Doom” is by Romanian artist and designer Costin Chorineu. Track listing for “Omens of Doom” is as follows:

1. The Force of Our Fall
2. Gathering Storms
3. The Devils Pyre
4. Plague and Pestilence
5. Omens of Doom
6. Rise of the Mushroom Clouds
7. Alt Svartner

Sulphur AlbumArtwork

SULPHUR is one of those bands that is able to straddle the line between Death and Black Metal with ease, whilst their use of progressive twists gives their sound a distinctive edge . Since current and former members of bands such as GORGOROTH, ENSLAVED, AETERNUS and VULTURE INDUSTRIES got together in 2000 to form SULPHUR, the band has released two demos and two full length studio albums, the first being “Cursed Madness” in 2007 on Osmose Productions, followed by 2009’s “Thorns in Existence” on Dark Essence.

SULPHUR’s next live appearance with be in Bergen at Blastfest on the 19th February for a special Dark Essence Records event, along with label-mates THE 3RD ATTEMPT, COR SCORPII, KRAKOW and SLEGEST. Other Dark Essence Records’ bands appearing at Blastfest will be MISTUR on the 17th and TAAKE on the 18th, whilst VIRUS, from sister-label Karisma Records, will also be playing on the 18th.

More information about SULPHUR can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

“Omens of Doom” is now available to pre-order from in CD and Digital formats or from in CD format.

Fan-filmed footage of SULPHUR performing at Karmoygeddon Arctic Festival can be seen at

SULPHUR’s 2009 album “Thorns in Existence” can be heard below and at