Posted on



With their debut full-length album “Gospel of the Vile” set for release on Dark Essence Records on the 6th March, Norwegian Doomsters DWAAL have revealed a video for the track “Like Rats”,  which can be seen below and on YouTube at

“Like Rats” is also available as a single which can be streamed or downloaded from all the usual services and retailers at

“Gospel of the Vile”, which the band describe as “A punch in the throat followed by a soothing caress, followed by another punch in the throat“, will be available in CD, Digital and Double Vinyl formats, as well as T-shirt bundles, and with artwork by Anders Johnsen and band photos by Endre Lohne, tracklisting for “Gospel of the Vile” is as follows:

  1. Ascent
  2. Like Rats
  3. Gospel of the Vile
  4. Obsidian Heart Burns
  5. The Whispering One
  6. Descent

Formed during 2014 in Norway’s capital city Oslo, DWAAL’s lineup of Bjørnar Kristiansen on vocals, Rikke Karlsen on Guitar, Eigil Dragvik on Guitars , Stian Hammer on Bass, Siri Vestby on synth, and Anders Johnsen on Drums, assaults the listener with a dense wall of sound that lies somewhere at the intersection of Doom and Post Metal. The atmosphere they create is one of slow motion, laden with heavy, sludgy, gloomy riffs,  punctuated alternately by despairing vocals one minute, and minimalistic, melancholic melodies the next.

Of the album itself, DWAAL recently had this to say:

“The making of “Gospel of the Vile” has involved an intense process of members leaving, new ones coming in, while slowly building a monolith. We feel the struggle has been worth it.

Our producer and engineer, Morten Øby from Taakeheimen Studio, has been patient through all this, and never gave up on the vision. Helping us give life to the material and always focusing on bringing out the best in us.

The music is definitely rooted in Doom Metal, bearing also clear inspiration from Post-rock, traditional Metal and the ambience of Black Metal. Resulting in a massive sound, with moments of both brutality and beauty.

The album concept is based on depicting humanity’s embracing of its inner darkness and the decline into a more primal state – With songs like “Gospel of the Vile” and “Obsidian Heart Burns” at the centre of the lyrical universe.

“Gospel of the Vile” is an album that challenges you to endure its every movement. That’s a pretentious statement of course, but we truly feel it will be worth it when the last notes of “Descent” fades out.

We hope that the album reaches everyone who is willing to give it a chance. 2020 will  hopefully be an amazing year for Dwaal. With upcoming concerts already booked, and more to come, it carries the hope of lifting us to another level.”

Aside from an appearance at the by:Larm Festival in Oslo in February, DWAAL will also be at Hulen in Bergen on the 7th March ahead of their release concert on the 12th March at Vaterland in Oslo .

“Gospel of the Vile” is now available to pre-order from:


Dark Essence Records Webshop:

More information about DWAAL can be found on the band’s Facebook page at or on their website at

“The Whispering One”, the first single released from “Gospel of the Vile”, can be streamed or downloaded at

Additional Information