Posted on


Taake Doedskvad Artwork PR

With the vinyl version long-sold out and much in demand from fans, Dark Essence Records are set to re-release TAAKE’s “…Doedskvad” in LP format. The cover art for the LP differs from the original Dark Essence release, and is the one that was used for the limited edition splatter vinyl that was available on Perverted Taste, and which also sold out and is no longer available.

First released in 2005, and acknowledged by many to be a Black Metal masterpiece, “…Doedskvad” forms the final part of TAAKE’s classic Trilogy, which includes the “Nattestid” and “Bjoergvin” albums. It was recorded at the legendary Grieghallen Studios, with guest appearances from Nattefrost (CARPATHIAN FOREST), NORDAVIND (ex-CARPATHIAN FOREST) and Taipan (ORCUSTUS).

The new vinyl edition will hit the streets on the 16th September and is available to pre-order now from or , as well as from the Dark Essence Records North American webshop at

Tracklisting for “…Doedskvad” as follows:

1. Hordalands Doedskvad part I
2. Hordalands Doedskvad part II
3. Hordalands Doedskvad part III
4. Hordalands Doedskvad part IV
5. Hordalands Doedskvad part V
6. Hordalands Doedskvad part VI
7. Hordalands Doedskvad part VII

Founded by Hoest, one of the most the most respected frontment in the genre, TAAKE’s Helnorsk Svartmetall sound remains true to the traditions of Norwegian Black Metal, but never allows itself to become stale, introducing fresh, and often musically controversial , ideas with each album. The use of a banjo on the track “Myr” on the band’s 2011 album “Noregs Vaapen, for example, initially caused consternation amongst some of the diehard Black Metal fans, but is now acknowledged as an eccentric stroke of genius, and is one of the most anticipated songs at TAAKE concerts.

Following a string of festival appearances this summer, and with two North American tours behind them, TAAKE will hit the road in Europe during December for a series of dates with Niklas Kvarforth’s SHINING. With these two dynamic and high profile frontmen taking to the stage on the same bill, the tour is understandably much anticipated by fans. Dates will be announced shortly.

More information about TAAKE can be found on the band’s website at or on Facebook at

“…Doedskvad” can be heard on BandCamp at

The official video for the track “Nordbundet” from the TAAKE album “Noregs Vaapen” can be seen below and at

Tracks from all of DARK ESSENCE RECORDS releases can be heard at