Posted on



Dark Essence Records will follow up their release of MOMENTUM’s sophomore full-length album “The Freak Is Alive”, with a trip into the band’s past and the digital release of their debut album “Fixation, at Rest” on the 15th January.

“Fixation, at Rest” was originally released in 2010, with the band’s then-lineup of Hörður Ólafsson on Vocals & Bass, Ingvar Sæmundsson on Guitar & Backing Vocals, Kristján Einar Guðmundsson on Drums and Erling Orri Baldursson on Guitar. The ten-track album was recorded at Island Studios by Axel Árnason and Studio Njallinn by Momentum in 2009 and mixed and mastered by Axel Árnason at Studio ReFlex in 2010

Artwork for “Fixation, at Rest” is by Hörður Ólafsson . Track listing as follows:

01 – Intro
02 – Metamorphose
03 – Holding Back
04 – Red Silence
05 – The Conduits Lead
06 – As The Skies Break
07 – Prosthetic Sea
08 – The Eye That Leads the Way
09 – Inspiration
10 – Fixation, at Rest

Momentum Fixation Artwork PR

Formed in Reykjavik, Iceland, in 2003, originally as a Black/Death metal project, MOMENTUM’s first releases included “The Requiem” EP appearing in 2006, and the “Your Side of the Triangle”in 2008. The release of “Fixation, at Rest”, saw the band leave their roots behind them and develop their own sound and identity. By the time “The Freak Is Alive” was released on Dark Essence in 2015, frontman Hörður Ólafsson was ready to take the listeners on a surreal journey through the subconscious with his use of artwork, lyrics and concepts.

Now a trio, MOMENTUM’s lineup comprises Kristján on Drums, Holaf on Vocalsand Bass , and Ingvar on Guitar and Vocals. It is a band whose sound is best described as the merging of atmospheric post-rock, reminiscent of ISIS and CULT OF LUNA, together with a level of bone-crushing heaviness broken up by soft singing and relaxed clean passages, intense vocals layered over discordant, staccato bursts, and mingling with eerie sound textures that explode into high-impact power chords, which bring to mind the work of NEUROSIS.

More information about MOMENTUM can be found on the band’s website at or on Facebook at


A video of MOMENTUM playing the title track from their debut album “Fixation, at Rest” live at the Airwaves festival can be seen below and at