Posted on


Taake - 7 Fjell Box

If there is one thing that Hoest, the iconic leader and frontman of Norwegian Black Metallers TAAKE,  has demonstrated with his trademark Helnorsk Svartmetall  sound  over the band’s twenty five year career, it is that it is possible for the genre not only to survive, but also to thrive and re-generate itself into something fresh and relevant, whilst losing none of its traditional feel.

And alongside TAAKE for many years now has been the Dark Essence Records label, based, like the band itself, in Bergen, and well known not only for its roster of long-established and extremely successful exponents of Black and Extreme Metal, but also for its unerring ability to sniff out the best of the new generation of bands coming up today.

Now, this hugely successful partnership between label and band has come up with a collaboration that will see the release of “7 Fjell”.  This career-spanning, limited edition box set will be a one-time only issue of 1,000 copies, and will contain seven picture discs that comprise all of TAAKE’s full-length albums to date. Each individual disc of seven tracks each (no bonus tracks), will come in a die-cut sleeve, and also included in the box will be  a TAAKE slip mat for your record player!   Of the seven albums, the last four have never before been released as picture discs.

“7 Fjell”, which translated  means the “7 Mountains”,  is a reference to both the seven mountains that surround Bergen, as well as the seven albums themselves.  With artwork by HELHEIM’s H’grimnir, based on a photo by Peter Beste, the picture discs are as follows:

Nattestid…. (1999)

  1. Nattestid ser Porten vid I
  2. Nattestid ser Porten vid II
  3. Nattestid ser Porten vid III
  4. Nattestid ser Porten vid IV
  5. Nattestid ser Porten vid V
  6. Nattestid ser Porten vid VI
  7. Nattestid ser Porten vid VII

…Bjoergvin… (2002)

  1. Over Bjoergvin graater Himmerik I
  2. Over Bjoergvin graater Himmerik II
  3. Over Bjoergvin graater Himmerik III
  4. Over Bjoergvin graater Himmerik IV
  5. Over Bjoergvin graater Himmerik V
  6. Over Bjoergvin graater Himmerik VI
  7. Over Bjoergvin graater Himmerik VII

…Doedskvad (2005)

  1. Hordalands Doedskvad I
  2. Hordalands Doedskvad II
  3. Hordalands Doedskvad III
  4. Hordalands Doedskvad IV
  5. Hordalands Doedskvad V
  6. Hordalands Doedskvad VI
  7. Hordalands Doedskvad VII

Taake (2008)

  1. Atternatt
  2. Umenneske
  3. Lukt til Helvete
  4. Doedsjarl
  5. Motpol
  6. September omsider
  7. Velg bort Livet

Noregs Vaapen (2011)

  1. Fra Vadested til Vaandesmed
  2. Orkan
  3. Nordbundet
  4. Du ville ville Vestland
  5. Myr
  6. Helvetesmakt
  7. Dei vil alltid klaga og kyta

Stridens Hus (2014)

  1. Gamle Norig
  2. Orm
  3. Det fins en Prins
  4. Stank
  5. En Sang til Sand om Ildebrand
  6. Kongsgaard bestaar
  7. Vinger

Kong Vinter (2017)

  1. Sverdets Vei
  2. Inntrenger
  3. Huset i Havet
  4. Havet i Huset
  5. Jernhaand
  6. Maanebrent
  7. Fra Bjoergegrend mot Glemselen

Taake -7 Fjell Box

“7 Fjell” is set for release on the 7th December and it is anticipated that demand for this item is going to be particularly high. It is therefore advisable to pre-order now from the following to avoid disappointment:



US Webshop:

More information about TAAKE can be found on the band’s official Facebook page at  or on their website at

The official video for the track “Nordbundet” from the TAAKE album “Noregs Vaapen” can be seen below and at