Posted on


With “Ruin” their long-awaited sophomore full-length album set for release on Dark Essence Records on the 15th June, Norwegian Extreme Melodic Metallers COR SCORPII have released a single from the album.  Titled “Fotefar” the single is available to hear and download in digital format from the following:

“Ruin” is the result of a song writing process which was both lengthy and, at times, quite  arduous for the band.  Drawing its inspiration from classical music, folk melodies and the soundscapes of Nordic extreme metal,  “Ruin” is a chance for COR SCORPII’s members to reveal their  hidden talents by making use of instruments not usually used by metal bands, such as the accordion and mandolin.

A follow up to COR SCORPII’s critically acclaimed debut album “Monument”, which was released eight years ago, also on Dark Essence Records, “Ruin” is an album that successfully blends epic, soaring melodies, with the harshness of extreme metal.  It features guest appearances by the classical singer Annika Beinnes, as well as Mats Lerberg (I SWEAR DAMNATION, ex-FUNERAL) who lend their considerable vocal talents to three tracks each.

“Ruin was recorded at various locations over a period of three years and was mixed by Børge Finstad in his Toproom Studio, and mastered by Tom Kvålsvoll at his Kvalsonic Lab.  With artwork by Novans V. Adikresna of the Marnov Studio, tracklisting on “Ruin” is as follows:

  1. Svart Blod (Hovmod star for fall)
  2. Hjarteorm
  3. Skuggevandrar
  4. Fotefar
  5. Helveteskap
  6. Ri di Mare
  7. Ærelaus
  8. Siste Dans

Founded in 2004 as an offshoot of the legendary WINDIR, COR SCORPII’s lineup of Gaute Refsnes on keyboards, Inge Jonny Lomheim on  bass guitars, accordion and programming, Ole M. Nordsve on drums, Rune Sjøthun on  rhythm guitars, mandolin and programming, and Thomas S. Øvstedal  on vocals,  recently welcomed a new arrival into its ranks in the shape of Erlend Nybø  on lead guitars.

“Ruin” will be released in CD, Double LP and Digital formats and is now available to pre-order from:

CD & Vinyl:
All formats:
US Webshop:

More information about COR SCORPII can be found on the band’s Facebook page at

A video of COR SCORPII performing the track “Oske og innsikt” from the album “Monument” can be seen below and at