Dark Essence Records are proud to announce the signing of the new Ukrainian band, Rattenfänger!

The band is a new project from the musicians behind cult acts like Drudkh, Blood of Kingu, Hate Forest, Dark Ages and such, but Rattenfänger is a different beast entirely.

The debut album, entitled “Epistolae Obscurorum Virorum”, is a masterpiece of old-school death metal. Rattenfänger’s sound is pitch black and bone crushingly brutal. It is Death Metal in its original form – and it is devastating. Inevitably there will be nuances from the members other projects, and comparisons can also be made with bands such as Celtic Frost, early Darkthrone, Asphyx, Winter, Bolt Thrower and Nihilist amongst others, but Rattenfänger, is the epitome of old-school death metal  and the album has its own, very distinctive, sound.

The name Rattenfänger is taken from the legend of the Pied Piper of Hamelin (Rattenfänger von Hameln), who was hired by the townsfolk of Hameln, Germany, to rid the town of the rats that had overrun it. Unfortunately he is deceived and cheated of his payment, and he exacts a dreadful revenge on the citizens. The lyrics are in Latin, written in style of medieval poets, thinkers and troubadours/minstrels.

The track list for “Epistolae Obscurorum Virorum” is:
1. Coelo Affixus Sed Terris Omnibus Sparsus – intro
2. Grimorium Verum
3. Victa Lacet Virtus
4. Nunc Scio Tenebris Lux
5. Allegoria De Gula Et Luxuria
6. Clausae Patent
7. Deest Remedii Locus, Ubi, Quae Vitia Fuerunt, Mores Fiunt
8. Regno, Regnavi, Regnabo

The album was recorded the spring/summer of 2012 in Kharkiv, Ukraine, and produced by Rattenfänger.

The album will be released in late October/early November of 2012 by Dark Essence Records.

Link to Rattenfänger in Dark Essence Records webshop


  • Rattenfänger - Epistolae Obscurorum Virorum - vinyl cover


    Epistolae Obscurorum Virorum


    Read more
  • Rattenfänger - Epistolae Obscurorum Virorum CD


    Epistolae Obscurorum Virorum


    Add to cart

We have