Posted on


Avast - Mother Culture

Skillfully fusing the aesthetics of black metal with the atmospherics of post-rock in order to create a soundscape that is both breathtaking and mesmerizing, Norwegian blackgazers AVAST are set to release their debut full-length album Mother Culture on October 26th through Dark Essence Records.

As a prelude to the release of Mother Culture, Dark Essence Records has released the title track as a single, which is available from and can be heard below and at


Hailing from Stavanger, Norway, AVAST consists of Hans Olaf Myrvang (AGENDA) on bass and vocals, Trond Salte (AGENDA) and Ørjan Lund (NAG) on guitars, and Stian Steensnæs (LIK) on drums, AVAST is a band that reviewers and promoters place in a variety of genres. Whilst the band’s roots lie in punk rock and hardcore, it would be safe to say that blackgaze and post-black metal are genres that could be applied to AVAST, given that AVAST’s lyrical themes are not centered around the usual black metal topics, but tend more towards a philosophical and poetical take on social and environmental issues.


The members of AVAST themselves describe Mother Culture as “a concept album that examines the myths upon which modern civilization is based”, and “an apocalyptic tale about the rise and fall of human civilization, and how we have exploited the Earth’s resources to such a degree that we are now standing on the brink of our own extinction. Musically the record borrows equally from the black metal and post-rock genres, and lyrically it draws inspiration from Daniel Quinn’s philosophical novel Ishmael.”

With artwork by Ole Nymoen, the track-listing for Mother Culture is as follows:

  1. Mother Culture
  2. The Myth
  3. Birth of Man
  4. The World Belongs to Man
  5. An Earnest Desire
  6. Man Belongs to the World

Mother Culture will be released in CD, Digital and limited edition white vinyl formats, and is now available to pre-order from:

Dark Essence Records:
US Webshop:

More information about AVAST can be found on their Facebook page at

A video of AVAST performing at 2016’s Tunghørt Festival can be seen below and at